Trade Agreements with List of Member Countries

1. Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

On December 30, 2018, the CPTPP entered into force among the first six countries to ratify the agreement – Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, and Singapore. On January 14, 2019, the CPTPP entered into force for Vietnam and the CPTPP entered into force for Peru on September 19, 2021. Malaysia ratified September 30, 2022, becoming the ninth out of eleven countries to ratify the agreement.

There are eleven member countries; eight countries have ratified the agreement; three countries have yet to ratify.

Parties That Have Ratified Parties That Have Not Yet Ratified
  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Singapore
  • Vietnam
  • Malaysia
  • 2. World Trade Organization Government Procurement Agreement (WTO-GPA)

    The World Trade Organization Agreement on Government Procurement (GPA) consists of 21 parties covering 48 WTO members (counting the European Union and its 27-member states, all of which are covered by the Agreement, as one party).


    1. Armenia
    2. Australia
    3. Canada
    4. European Union (and its 27 member states): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Slovak Republic and Slovenia and Sweden
    5. Hong Kong, China
    6. Iceland
    7. Israel
    8. Japan
    9. Korea, Republic of
    10. Liechtenstein
    11. Moldova, Republic of
    12. Montenegro
    13. Netherlands with respect to Aruba
    14. New Zealand
    15. Norway
    16. Singapore
    17. Switzerland
    18. Chinese Taipei
    19. Ukraine
    20. United Kingdom
    21. United States

    3.Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

    This agreement between Canada and the European Union was signed on October 30, 2016 and was provisionally applied on September 21, 2017. Provisional application means that most of the provisions, including government procurement, is treated as in force.

    1. Austria
    2. Belgium
    3. Bulgaria
    4. Croatia
    5. Republic of Cyprus
    6. Czech Republic
    7. Denmark
    8. Estonia
    9. Finland
    10. France
    11. Germany
    12. Greece
    13. Hungary
    14. Ireland
    15. Italy
    16. Latvia
    17. Lithuania
    18. Luxembourg
    19. Malta
    20. Netherlands
    21. Poland
    22. Portugal
    23. Romania
    24. Slovakia
    25. Slovenia
    26. Spain
    27. Sweden

    4. Canada-United Kingdom Trade Continuity Agreement (CUKTCA)

    As of January 1, 2021, the UK fully left the EU, and CETA (including government procurement commitments) ceased to apply between Canada and the UK.

    The CUKTCA entered into force on April 1, 2021. It maintains Canada’s competitive advantage to the UK market and largely replicates the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), including the government procurement commitments between Canada and the UK (which also includes sub-federal entities).

    On March 24, 2022, Canada and the United Kingdom launched negotiations toward a Free Trade Agreement (FTA). The United Kingdom (UK) is Canada’s third-largest partner country for trade in goods and services.


    CPTPP: https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cptpp-ptpgp/index.aspx?lang=eng

    WTO-GPA: https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/gproc_e/memobs_e.htm

    CETA: https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/ceta-aecg/index.aspx?lang=eng

    CUKTCA: https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cuktca-acccru/trade-continuity-agreement.aspx?lang=eng